I’m currently sitting across my friend who got married a week ago. They had a simple civil ceremony, with 2 witnesses. I was her witness, florist, photographer, stylist and make-up artist (which is definitely the least of my skills!). I am her friend, and sister, who held her cold clammy hands as we went on our way to the local marriage registry office. Our prep time was much longer than the actual ceremony. In less than 15 minutes, they were solemnized and I almost didn’t capture their first official kiss as husband and wife. We were like schoolchildren in joyous disbelief when we wen out of the office of the principal, er… the solemnizer.

She smiled in awe last Monday when she told me that she’s already someone’s wife for a week. They’re both still in cloud nine, and so am I. I can’t wait to tell her that me, being the single gal in our beloved group of three, is also staring at her with such hope and wonder. Our dreams are slowly falling into place. Bit by bit, we are building the foundations of our future. The age is certainly but  a number now, the wisdom is what truly counts.

As we are prepare for their wedding church ceremony on October, where there will be far more witnesses than just 2 people, the wedding playlist is a vital part of the celebration. Her husband, 9 years older than her, is a hands-on planning groom. The genres will definitely be diverse,  but we’re already anticipating an amazing vibe and energy from their friends and guests. If I get to pick a favorite from all the choices they are currently playing… I think I’m gonna go for this classic jam, ‘I wanna dance with somebody…’

